Sign In

Lending Discrimination

Discrimination in mortgage lending is prohibited by the federal Fair Housing Act and HUD's Office of Fair Housing and Equal Opportunity actively enforces those provisions of the law. The Fair Housing Act makes it unlawful to engage in the following practices based on race, color, national origin, religion, sex, familial status or handicap (disability):

  • Refusing to make a mortgage loan
  • Refusing to provide information regarding loans
  • Imposing different terms or conditions on a loan, such as different interest rates, points or fees
  • Discriminating in appraising property
  • Refusing to purchase a loan or set different terms or conditions for purchasing a loan

Learn more about Fair Housing and Equal Opportunity

Last Updated: 8/10/2015 21:01